Updated March 23 at 6:27pm

Municipal pension panel appointments announced


PROVIDENCE – The members of the 14-person panel charged with reviewing and making recommendations for the administration of municipal pensions were named on Friday.

Gov. Lincoln D. Chafee made three appointments of firefighter, union and police representatives: Paul Doughty, International Association of Firefighters; Jean Bouchard, municipal vice president AFSCME (American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees), Council 94; and Steve St. Pierre, sergeant of the Bristol Police Department.

“I am confident that Paul, Jean and Sergeant St. Pierre will bring valuable experience and perspective to the study commission. They represent the Rhode Islanders who work hard and risk their lives day in and day out to ensure that our cities and towns are safe, secure and delivering the services on which citizens depend. I look forward to the findings of this commission as we continue our efforts to protect the property taxpayer, provide retirement security for employees and retirees, and address the financial issues facing our municipalities,” Chafee said in a news release.

The panel will review existing legislation and pension plan administrative practices, and make recommendations for the improved security and funding of locally administered plans and other post-retirement benefit obligations of cities and towns, the news release said.

The legislative appointments - made by House Speaker Gordon D. Fox and Senate President M. Theresa Paiva Weed - included:

  • Antonio Pires, former state representative and former chairman of the House Committee on Finance.

  • J. Michael Lenihan, former state senator and former chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance.

  • Providence Mayor Angel Taveras.

  • Johnston Mayor Joseph M. Polisena.

  • Bruce R. Kaiser, Jamestown Town Administrator.

Other statutory appointments included:

  • Rosemary Booth Gallogly, Department of Revenue Director, who will serve as the panel’s chair.

  • Dennis Hoyle, acting Auditor General.

  • Treasurer Gina M. Raimondo, representative from the General Treasurer’s Office.

  • A representative from the Department of Administration.

  • Cranston Mayor Alan Fung, representative from the League of Cities and Towns.

  • John Simmons, representative from the Rhode Island Public Expenditure Council.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News