Updated March 22 at 9:20pm
chief financial officer awards

PBN announces winners of CFO Awards


PROVIDENCE – Providence Business News has selected the winners of its third annual Chief Financial Officer Awards program, honoring nine individuals for their fiscal savvy.

The winner of the career achievement award is Jeffrey A. Burchill, senior vice president and chief financial officer of FM Global.

Burchill’s nominator, chairman and CEO Shivan S. Subramaniam, credited him with keeping a “steady hand at the financial wheel” of FM Global, to help weather the mutual insurance company through unsteady economic times.

According to his nomination form, Burchhill’s leadership “helped the company thrive and grow during a period when similar companies failed, struggled or required massive government bailouts to remain in business.”

Other CFO winners include:

  • Public company, headquartered in Rhode Island: David M. Denton, CVS Caremark Corp.

  • Large private company (more than 150 employees): James P. Loring, Amica Mutual Insurance Co.

  • Mid-size private company (75-150 employees): Brian Hennessey, People’s Credit Union

  • Small private company (less than 75 employees): Christopher J. Ready, DiPrete Engineering Associates Inc.

  • Nonprofit social service agency: Irene McCormick, The College Crusade of Rhode Island

  • Nonprofit (health care, higher education, other): Mike Hudson, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Rhode Island

  • Government/quasi-government agency: Ernest Zymslinski, city of Warwick

  • Rising Star: Lynda Gilbert, CareLink

The awards dinner is scheduled for April 4 from 5:30 to 8 p.m. at the Bello Center at Bryant University. To register, visit www.PBN.com.

The presenting sponsor of the CFO Awards is KPMG; partner sponsors include Bryant University, Cox Business, Gencorp Insurance, TD Bank, and media sponsor AM 790.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News