Updated March 28 at 8:28am

RIPEC honors public service award winners at annual meeting


PROVIDENCE – On Thursday at its 69th annual meeting at the Rhode Island Convention Center, the R.I. Public Expenditure Council will honor this year’s public service award winners: Anthony M. Pesare and Sharon Reynolds Ferland.

Pesare, chief of police for the town of Middletown, is this year’s recipient of the 2012 Robert M. Goodrich Distinguished Public Service Award. Pesare joined the Middletown Police Department as chief of police in 2004 after more than 25 years in law enforcement.

The Gary S. Sasse Distinguished Service Award will be presented to Sharon Reynolds Ferland, R.I. House of Representatives fiscal adviser. Ferland joined the Fiscal Advisory Staff of the House in December 1997 and was promoted to House fiscal adviser in December 2009.

“This year’s nominees are true examples of what it means to work in public service. We are proud to be able to honor them as a part of this year’s annual meeting,” Paula Twidale, chair of the public service award selection committee, said in prepared remarks.

Attendees of RIPECs annual meeting will hear a keynote address from Cook Political Report editor Jennifer Duffy as well as remarks from Gov. Lincoln D. Chafee, Sen. M. Teresa Paiva Weed and Rep. Gordon Fox.

The event is being held at the Rhode Island Convention Center in Providence starting with a reception a 5:30 p.m. Duffy’s keynote address is expected to begin at 7:30 p.m.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News