Updated March 23 at 9:23am
small business

SBA announces R.I. small business award winners


PROVIDENCE – The U.S. Small Business Administration announced the 2013 Rhode Island small business award winners on Thursday, with Farmaesthetics Founder and CEO Brenda Brock earning the title of “Small Business Person of the Year.”

Brock will be honored with the other regional award winners during the annual Rhode Island Salute to Small Business awards luncheon on June 12 at the Alpine Country Club in Cranston. Brock will also compete for the National Small Person of the Year Award, which will be announced in Washington on June 17. The Rhode Island Salute to Small Business celebration will be held the week of June 10 to 14.

The SBA awards are presented in nine categories, and the Rhode Island SCORE chapter also presents and award. This year’s honorees are:

  • Rhode Island and New England Entrepreneurial Success Award:

    David MacDonald, founder and CEO of The Children’s Workshop, Cumberland

  • Rhode Island and New England Veteran-owned Small Business of the Year:

    Gerald Barry, chairman of the board at MEDfx Corp., Warwick

  • Rhode Island and New England Microenterprise of the Year:

    Dr. Drew Carey, principal at CoastalVision, Newport

  • Rhode Island and New England Financial Services Champion of the Year:

    Robert Mancini, executive director of the R.I. Society of Certified Public Accountants

  • Rhode Island Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Small Business of the Year:

    Antonio Fonseca and Vincent Fonseca, owners of Packaging & More, Central Falls

  • Rhode Island Women-owned Small Business of the Year:

    Elizabeth Yuill, president of Brown & Hopkins Country Store, Chepachet

  • Rhode Island SBA Young Entrepreneur of the Year:

    Jeshua Zapata, president of Xzito Creative Solutions, Johnston

  • Rhode Island SBA District Director Award:

    Gary Ezovski, owner of Lincoln Environmental Properties, North Smithfield

    Ronald Caniglia, owner of STAND Corporation, Warwick

  • Joseph G.E. Knight Award for Entrepreneurial Excellence (Presented by Rhode Island SCORE Chapter):

    Jeanne Salisbury, president of Minuteman Press, Pawtucket

“I congratulate the Rhode Island and regional small business award winners,” Mark S. Hayward, director of the SBA Rhode Island District Office, said in a statement. “From the dozens of nominations received each year, we consider these the ‘best-of-the-best.’ Their hard work and demonstrated success are worthy of this recognition.”

Anyone interested in registering to attend the awards luncheon can find more information at www.sba.gov.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment
Latest News