Nominations for 2009 Women of the Year
Rhode Island Commission on Women
Seeks to Recognize Leading Women in R.I.
The Rhode Island Commission on Women (RICW) is requesting nominations for its 2009 Women of the Year Award. The award recognizes influential women in
Rhode Island who demonstrate a history of individual achievement, or who have made lasting and positive contributions in the community to help elevate the
presence of women and improve the quality of life for women in the state.

Created in 1989, the Women of the Year Award celebrates the work of pioneering Rhode Island women who are influential in areas such as the arts, business,
economic development, employment, education, health, legal rights and politics. These women have a positive impact on the lives of women and/or girls in our
state through their work as role models and mentors.

To nominate a woman for this award, please call (401) 222-6105 or visit the RICW website at Nominees must live or work in Rhode Island.
The deadline for nominations is May 1, 2009, at 4:00 p.m.
The 2009 Women of the Year dinner and reception will be held Thursday, October 8, 2009, at the Radisson Airport Hotel, Warwick, RI. All net proceeds from
the event will be donated to the RICW/Freda H. Goldman Education Award, which provides annual awards to Rhode Island women who need financial assistance
to pursue an education or job training beyond high school.

RICW is a state agency whose purpose is to advance women toward full equity in all areas of life, through the promotion of rights and opportunities for all women.
Past honorees include Marguerite A. Beaubien, Freda H. Goldman, Anna Maria Saritelli-DiPanni, Lila M. Sapinsley, Eleanor F. Slater, Diane M. Disney, Florence K. Murray, E. Naomi Craig, Roberta Richman, Ann Clair Assumpico, Ruth
Barge Thumbtzen, June N. Gibbs, Elizabeth A. Laposata, Marlene C. McCarthy, M. Christine Benoit, Judith B. Fox, Cheryl Watkins Snead, Susan D. Wallace, Linda A. Bailey, Kimberly M. Cipolla, Kathy Jellison Lynn T. Antonelli, Sister
Mary Reilly, Karen F. Stein, Dr. Susan Cu-Uvin, Joyce Dolbec and Carol Englander.

- Advertisement -