3 local residents recognized with 2018 local Pell Awards

TRINITY REPERTORY COMPANY announced three local residents will be honored at its 2018 Pell Awards Gala. / COURTESY TRINITY REPERTORY COMPANY
TRINITY REPERTORY COMPANY announced three local residents will be honored at its 2018 Pell Awards Gala. / COURTESY TRINITY REPERTORY COMPANY

PROVIDENCE – Three local residents will be honored at the 2018 Pell Awards Gala at the Waterfire Arts Center on May 21, The Trinity Repertory Company announced Monday.

Morris Nathanson was named the winner of the Rhode Island Pell Award for Excellence in the Arts. Nathanson, a founding board member of the Trinity Repertory Company. He is “widely recognized as the father of modern restaurant and hospitality design” and was one of the Trinity’s earliest set designers.

Jane S. Nelson was recognized with the Charles Sullivan Award for Distinguished Service in the Arts. Nelson was one of the original subscribers to Trinity Rep. Nelson has served on the board and development committee for the Rhode Island Philharmonic Orchestra. Nelson was name president of The Miriam Hospital in 1966. She became the first woman to be named an honorary trustee for life of the hospital in 1988. Trinity Rep said that Nelson is a volunteer and supporter of many other charitable organizations across a range of interests.

Jeannine Chartier was recognized for the Pell Award for Outstanding Leadership in the Arts for her work with VSA arts Rhode Island, where she has worked as the executive and artistic director since 1996. VSA arts Rhode Island is a nonprofit arts education organization that provides programs for people with disabilities to actively participate in the arts. Chartier was recruited to develop VSA art Rhode island in 1986.

- Advertisement -

Chartier has previously been recognized by the R.I. Department of Education with the Paul V. Sherlock Leadership Award in 2001, the R.I. Council on the Humanities Creative Achievement Award in 2012 and the Pawtucket Working River Award in 2015.

Trinity Rep also said more honorees will be announced at a later date.

The gala will begin at 6 p.m. at the Waterfire Arts Center in Providence with a VIP cocktail reception. The ceremony and seated dinner will be served at 7 p.m.

To purchase tickets or to find more information about the Trinity Rep Gala, its awards or its awardees, visit Trinity Rep’s website.

The Pell Awards are named after the late U.S. Sen. Claiborne Pell. The awards ceremony began in 1997 to honor the senator’s legacy. Pell served in the Senater from 1961 to 1997. He died on Jan. 1, 2009.

“There is no better way to honor Senator Claiborne Pell’s dedication to the arts than by recognizing the talents and hearts of Jeannine Chartier, Morris Nathanson, and Jane Nelson, all incredibly deserving honorees,” said Curt Columbus, Arthur P. Solomon and Sally E. Lapides Artistic Director of Trinity Rep in a statement. “Each of the 2018 Pell Award winners demonstrates the significant impact that a life spent in dedication to the creative arts, community and philanthropy can make. The work these honorees have done over their lifetimes continues to reach worldwide. It gives me deep pleasure to recognize Jeannine, Morris and Jane for their many years of service to Trinity Rep and to Rhode Island.”

All proceeds of the gala benefit Trinity Rep’s artistic programs.

Chris Bergenheim is the PBN web editor.