
NARRAGANSETT – Lila Delman Real Estate has started an exterior renovation of its Ocean Road headquarters, a one-and-a-quarter-century-old building that was once called The Narragansett Reading Room.
Originally designed as a men’s club with rooms available for overnight stays, the building is “significant as an iconic, surviving representative structure of Narragansett Pier’s development before 1900 as a pre-eminent New England seaside resort,” according to the building’s U.S. National Park Service application for historic-structure status.
The exterior renovation, which started last month, was designed by Nancy Leslie, principal of Wakefield’s Leslie Architects. Jamestown’s Suburban Renewal is the general contractor.
The “Italianate-Second Empire” style building was moved in 1899 to be closer to the Narragansett Casino. It had been converted to residential use in the mid-1900s.
Founded in 1964, Lila Delman maintains offices in Narragansett, Watch Hill, Newport and Jamestown. For more information, go to www.liladelman.com.












