New England Emmy nominations announced

PROVIDENCE – Seven Rhode Island media and marketing enterprises garnered nominations in the 40th Emmy Awards for the Boston/New England chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, announced Wednesday.

WPRI-TV CBS 12 received six nominations and WJAR-TV NBC 10 received five nominations, as did the WWII Foundation/Ocean State Video. Flickers, Nail Communications, RDW Group and the University of Rhode island/Ocean State Video each received one nomination. All told, Rhode Island entrants were nominated in 15 different categories. The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, June 24, at the Marriott Boston Copley Place. Tickets to the gala may be purchased at the New England Academy Awards website.

The local nominations are as follows:


Editor news – within 24 hours

- Advertisement -
  • Inside the Special Response Unit – John J. Villella Jr., editor

Investigative report

  • Target 12: Hidden House Rep – Tim White, investigative reporter; John J. Villella Jr., videographer; Nicholas Domings, executive producer; Edward Nesi, digital reporter; Daniel McGowan, digital reporter

News report-light feature

  • Senior City Skater – Perry Russom, reporter; John J. Villella Jr., videographer/editor

News report-serious feature

  • Street Stories: #DStrong – John J. Villella Jr., videographer/editor; Walt Buteau, reporter

On camera talent reporter-sports

  • Yianni Kourakis – Sports Reporter Composite: Yianni Kourakis, Sports Reporter/Anchor
  • Mark Dondero Sports Reporter: Mark Dondero, On-Air Talent


Continuing coverage no time limit

  • Westport Animal Cruelty Scandal – Adam Bagni, reporter

Newscast – evening smaller markets (50-100+)

  • NBC 10 News AT 11:00: Chris Lanni, news director; Benjamin Wilcox, producer

Video journalist

  • NBC 10 News: Adam Bagni, video journalist
  • Southern New England’s Premier Video Journalist: Tony Gugliotta, video journalist

Writer news

  • Fishermen’s Statue Celebrates Sacrifice -Adam Bagni, reporter

WWII Foundation/Ocean State Video


  • Remember Pearl Harbor – Tim Gray, producer/writer/director; Jim Karpeichik, editor/videographer

Historical/cultural program/special

  • Uncle Jack – Tim Gray, producer/writer/director

Musical composition/arrangement

  • Remember Pearl Harbor – Roger Cichy, composer; Jim Karpeichik, editor/videographer

Writer program

  • Remember Pearl Harbor – Tim Gray, writer producer
  • War Journal – Tim Gray, writer producer


Community/Public Service Campaign

  • The Magic Cinema: RIIFF 2016 PSA – George T. Marshall, executive producer; Eric Latek, director

Nail Communications


  • An Ad Big As Life -Alec Beckett, agency

RDW Group

Community/Public Service Campaign

  • Beyond The Crash – Dante Bellini, executive producer

University of Rhode Island/Ocean State Video

Writer program
  • URI Today Napatree -Betty-Jo Cugini, writer producer

Chris Bergenheim is the PBN web editor.