Four states claim federal tax-deduction cap infringes rights

FOUR STATES, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Maryland have sued to invalidate the cap on federal tax deductions that was introduced in the 2017 Tax Cuts and Jobs Act. / BLOOMBERG FILE PHOTO/CRAIG WARGA
NEW YORK - Four Democratic-led northeastern states sued the Trump administration to invalidate the new $10,000 cap on the federal tax deduction for state and local taxes that they say unfairly targets them. New York, New Jersey, Connecticut and Maryland claim the sweeping 2017 federal tax law overturned more than 150 years of precedent. The state…

Register to keep reading or subscribe today and receive unlimited access at a special discounted rate in honor of our 35th anniversary.
Register Now Already a Subscriber? Login now

Purchase NowWant to share this story? Click Here to purchase a link that allows anyone to read it on any device whether or not they are a subscriber.

No posts to display