Tech Collective announces
2018 Tech10 Award winners

PROVIDENCE – Eighteen individuals will be honored by Tech Collective with 2018 Tech10 Awards, the technology association announced Tuesday.

Victor Fay-Wolfe, a computer scientist at the University of Rhode Island, will be awarded the Tech10 Lifetime Achievement Award this year. Fay-Wolfe is the founder of URI’s Digital Forensics program and is the director of URI’s Digital and Cyber Security Center.

The awards will be presented on Nov. 15 from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at the Squantum Association in East Providence.

The Tech10 Awards are presented in partnership with Rhode Island Monthly.

- Advertisement -

In addition to honoring an individual with a lifetime achievement award, the Tech10 Awards honored 17 individuals in 10 categories this year in an effort to recognize the best entrepreneurs and technology professionals in Rhode Island and organizations that drive innovation in the Ocean State.

Applicants were chosen by a committee based on submissions collected between June and August of 2018.

The 2018 Tech10 Award recipients (with award categories in bold):

Next Tech Generation

  • Aaron Buckley, infrastructure applications engineer at Alex and Ani
  • Camille Bobiak, systems engineer II at Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems
  • Carlos Hernandez, software developer at Kenzan LLC
  • Jenna Barboza, service desk manager at Vertikal6
  • Nitish M. Devadiga, principal software engineer at Datarista Inc.

Entrepreneur / Start-up

  • Michelle Petersen, founder at TextUp

Tech Leadership 

  • Todd S. Knapp, CEO at Envision Technology Advisors LLC
  • John Alfred, captain of computer crimes unit at R.I. State Police

Outstanding Tech Practitioner  

  • Travis Eland, senior software developer at Trilix

Community Partner       

  • Carol M. Giuriceo, director at Rhode Island STEAM Center at Rhode Island College

Youth Engagement

  • Matthew Hallam, senior software developer at Amica Mutual Insurance Co. / volunteer teacher at CS4RI

Tech Educator

  • Celinda Kofron and Anubhav Tripathi, co-instructors of biomedical engineering design and innovation at Brown University

Workforce Development Champion 

  • Lori Meeks, senior talent business partner at Upserve

Women in Tech

  • Heather ONeill, CEO at Pixels for Humans

Company Innovation    

  • Jacques Laflamme, chief information officer at New England Institute of Technology
  • Barbara Reid, agile coach at FM Global

“Congratulations 2018 Tech10 Award winners! We are honored to recognize these influential individuals and innovative companies,” said Joe Devine, interim executive director at Tech Collective, in a statement. “The honorees’ contributions to their organizations and the communities they serve have contributed greatly to the state’s economic growth. We look forward to their continued successes!”

Tickets to the event may be purchased online.